Stones River Chamber Players celebrate ‘Commonalit...

Stones River Chamber Players celebrate ‘Commonality’ of spring with free online concert

promo for the 2020-21 concert seasaon finale for MTSU’s Stones River Chamber Players, the faculty ensemble-in-residence for the university’s School of Music, with text reading “Commonality, Tuesday, March 30, 4 PM Central,” and the SRCP and School of Music logos

MTSU’s Stones River Chamber Players will celebrate spring and conclude their 2020-21 performance season with a free concert, “Commonality,” to be broadcast Tuesday, March 30, on the School of Music’s livestream YouTube channel.

The renowned faculty ensemble-in-residence’s performance from the Hinton Hall stage inside MTSU’s Wright Music Building will air beginning at 4 p.m. Central March 30 at

The free concert’s program features:Stones River Chamber Players graphic

• Composer Valerie Coleman’s “Rubispheres,” performed by SRCP members Deanna Little on flute, Todd Waldecker on clarinet and Leigh Muñoz on bassoon.

• Composer and School of Music professor Paul Osterfield’s “Portobello Ritornello with a Shot of Limoncello,” performed by oboist David Cyzak, horn player Angela DeBoer and pianist Adam Clark.

• >Composer Nicolò Paganini’s Duetto No. 3 in D major for violin and bassoon, MS 130, performed by violinist Andrea Dawson and Muñoz.

• Composer Madeleine Dring’s Trio for flute, oboe and piano, performed by Little, Cyzak and pianist Eunbyol Ko.

MTSU’s School of Music has presented its 2020-21 concerts, including student and faculty recitals, online to keep the musicians, audience and staff safer during the pandemic and to allow the musicians to continue their performance schedules.

The Stones River Chamber Players’ season-opening concert from October 2020 is available to watch below. Links to videos from other School of Music performances are available here on the music calendar.

Along with Clark, Cyzak, Dawson, DeBoer, Ko, Little, Muñoz and Waldecker, the Stones River Chamber Players’ membership includes tuba player Chris Combest, cellist Christine Kim, percussionists Brian Mueller and Russell Wharton, pianists Arun Nadgir and Joseph Walker, vocalists Will Perkins and H. Stephen Smith and violinist Sarah Wilfong-Joblin.

School of Music logoCombest, Dawson and Kim serve as the group’s co-directors this season, and Joseph Morgan is the artistic adviser. Mueller and Osterfield are faculty composers alongside their School of Music colleague Cedric Dent.

More information on the Stones River Chamber Players is available at

For details on more MTSU School of Music performances, call 615-898-2493 or visit the Concert Calendar online.

— Gina E. Fann (