Nearly 50 new scholars to join Phi Kappa Phi honor...

Nearly 50 new scholars to join Phi Kappa Phi honor society April 14 at MTSU

MTSU’s most prestigious honor society will welcome 48 new members at its spring 2015 initiation set Tuesday, April 14.

Dr. John Omachonu, vice provost for academic affairs, will deliver the address at the ceremony, which is scheduled for 5 p.m. April 14 in the Student Union Ballroom.

The event is free and open to the public. A campus parking map is available at

phi kappa phi logo webAccording to, the honor society was created in 1897 at the University of Maine with a mission “to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

The organization was created in 1897 at the University of Maine to acknowledge and honor excellence in all academic disciplines. Its motto is “Philosophia Krateito Photon,” which is Greek for “let the love of learning rule humanity.”

Since its founding, Phi Kappa Phi has initiated more than one million members into its ranks. Some of its most prominent members include former President Jimmy Carter, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg; former Secretary of State and former U.S. Sen. Hillary Clinton; renowned opera star Renee Fleming; two-time Nobel laureate in chemistry Dr. Linus Pauling; Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Ernest Gaines; jazz legend Ellis Marsalis; and astronauts Wendy Lawrence and Bernard Harris.

To learn more about joining MTSU’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter, go to its Facebook page at

Refreshments will be available following the ceremony.

For more information, contact Dr. Philip Phillips, associate dean of the University Honors College and president of MTSU’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter, at 615-898-2699 or

— Gina K. Logue (