Longtime finance educator to receive MTSU’s top mi...

Longtime finance educator to receive MTSU’s top minority faculty honor

A veteran of more than 30 years of experience teaching mathematics and finance is slated to receive one of MTSU’s most prestigious honors.

Dr. Frank Michello, Department of Economics and Financea

Dr. Frank Michello

Dr. Frank Michello, a professor of finance and director of the Master of Science in Finance Program in the Jennings A. Jones College of Business, will receive the John Pleas Faculty Recognition Award at 4 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 21, in the Ingram Center, 2269 Middle Tennessee Blvd. in Murfreesboro.

A campus map is available at Off-campus donors can obtain a special one-day permit at

A reception will follow the presentation.

Michello, a naturalized U.S. citizen born in Zambia, teaches in the finance master’s degree and the college’s executive MBA programs and in the Concrete Industry Management master’s program.

His research interests include emerging markets, financial accounting, market microstructure, working capital management, portfolio performance evaluation and risk management.

Michello has published numerous articles in peer-reviewed academic journals. He is a member of the Financial Management Association, the African Finance Association, the Academy of Economics and Finance, Financial Executives International and the Mid-West Finance Association.

Jones College of Business logoOn Feb. 14, Michello was one of five community “unsung heroes” honored at the university’s 23rd annual Unity Luncheon; he was recognized for his contributions to education.

His previous awards include the 2018 MTSU True Blue Citation of Distinction; Outstanding Faculty Member in the Economics and Finance Department, 2002-03; Distinguished Assistant Professor, 2002-03; and Superior Faculty Adviser for 2006-07 from the Financial Management Association.

MTSU established the John Pleas Faculty Recognition Award in 1997 to honor John Pleas, a professor emeritus of psychology and recipient of the 1999 Outstanding Teaching Award. It is presented annually to a minority faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching, research and service.

Nominees must have completed at least five years of service at MTSU and have a record of outstanding service.

You can learn more about the John Pleas Award here. Winners of the Pleas Faculty Recognition Award since its inception are:

  • Dr. Bichaka Fayissa, economics professor, 1998.
  • Dr. Laura Jarmon, English professor, 1999.
  • Dr. Gloria Bonner, dean of the College of Education, 2000.
  • Dr. Sharon Shaw-McEwen, social work professor, 2001.
  • Dr. Alphonse Carter, engineering technology professor, 2002.
  • Dr. Bertha Clark, professor of communication disorders, 2003.
  • Dr. Anantha Babbili, 2004, dean of the College of Mass Communication.
  • Dr. Pat Patterson, professor of chemistry, 2005.
  • Dr. Rosemary Owens, dean of continuing studies and public service, 2006.
  • Dr. Connie Wade, chair of the Department of Elementary and Special Education, 2007.
  • Dr. Marva Lucas, chair of the Department of University Studies, 2008.
  • Dr. Adonijah Bakari, history professor, 2009.
  • Dr. Dwight Patterson, 2010, chemistry professor.
  • Dr. Raphael Bundage, 2011, music professor.
  • Dr. Cheryl Slaughter Ellis, professor of community and public health, 2012.
  • Dr. Newtona “Tina” Johnson, professor of English and director of the Women’s and Gender Studies Program, 2013.
  • Dr. Sekou Franklin, political science professor, 2014.
  • Dr. Michaele Chappell, professor of mathematics education and coordinator for the Masters of Science in Teaching program, 2015.
  • Dr. Linda Clark, professor of mathematics in the Department of University Studies, 2016.
  • Dr. Barbara Turnage, professor of social work and interim associate dean, College of Behavioral and Health Sciences, 2017.
  • Dr. Louis Woods, history professor and director of MTSU’s Africana Studies Program, 2018.

For more information, contact Daniel Green, director of the Office of Intercultural and Diversity Affairs and chair of the Black History Month Committee, at 615-898-5812 or

— Gina K. Logue (