Stones River Chamber Players put ‘Music in Motion’...

Stones River Chamber Players put ‘Music in Motion’ Oct. 18 in free season-opening concert

SRCP 2021-22 concert season promo with text reading “Stones River Chamber Players Present ‘Music in Motion’ 2021-2022, Monday, Oct. 18, 8 PM, Wright Music Building, MTSU Campus” on an image of neon clockwork gears from the concert season poster

MTSU’s Stones River Chamber Players are putting “Music in Motion” to set the “Momentum” for their 2021-22 season with a free opening concert Monday, Oct. 18, in the School of Music’s Wright Music Building.

Stones River Chamber Players 2021-22 concert season poster

Click on the poster to see a larger version.

The renowned faculty ensemble-in-residence’s performance on the Hinton Hall stage begins at 8 p.m. Central Oct. 18. Guests must follow MTSU’s mask and other health safety requirements inside the venue, which is located at 1439 Faulkinberry Drive in Murfreesboro.

Music lovers who can’t attend in person can enjoy the ensemble’s performance online at

The program for the Oct. 18 concert, titled “Music in Motion,” features:

• Composer Astor Piazzolla’s “Tango Suite” for two percussionists.
• Franz Liszt’s “Sonnets of Petrarch” for voice and piano.
• Jonas Ervolder Bové’s “Mekaniko” for flute, tuba and percussion.
• Adriana Figueroa Mañas’ “Tres piezas argentinas para violin y cello.”
• Brian S. Wilson’s “The Avanti Feels Glued to The Road Even When Cruising at 100 mph” for trombone and percussion.

This MTSU Arts performance season, with a theme of “Momentum,” will continue Monday, Feb. 21, when the Stones River Chamber Players will present an 8 p.m. concert, “Turbulence.” They’ll conclude the season Monday, March 28, at 8 p.m. with “Journey.”

The Stones River Chamber Players’ concerts are free to the public.

The ensemble’s membership this season includes pianists Richard Blumenthal, Adam Clark, Eunbyol Ko, Arun Nadgir and Joseph Walker; Chris Combest on tuba; oboist David Cyzak; violinist Andrea Dawson; horn player Angela DeBoer; percussionists Christopher Dye and Brian Mueller; flutist Deanna Little; trombonist David Loucky; vocalists Will Perkins and H. Stephen Smith; and clarinetist Todd Waldecker.

new School of Music logoCombest and Waldecker serve as the group’s co-directors this season. Paul Osterfield is the faculty composer.

More information on the Stones River Chamber Players is available at

For details on more MTSU School of Music performances, call 615-898-2493 or visit the Concert Calendar online.

— Gina E. Fann (