MTSU
READING

MTSU announces tornado-siren test schedule for 201...

MTSU announces tornado-siren test schedule for 2019-20

A U.S. flag stands in the rubble of a neighborhood struck by a deadly EF5 tornado that ravaged Moore, Oklahoma, and nearby areas May 20, 2013, killing 24 people and injuring 212 others. The tornado, which stayed on the ground for 37 minutes over a 17-mile path that crossed through a heavily populated area of the town, was part of a larger weather system that produced several other tornadoes across the Great Plains over the previous two days, including five that struck portions of Central Oklahoma the day before. (Photo by RevDP/Pixabay)

MTSU has finalized its monthly tornado-siren testing schedule for the 2019-20 academic year and has changed the test days to better serve the university community.

MTSU tests its tornado sirens on campus and at the Miller Coliseum Complex each month to ensure proper operations. Each test lasts only a few moments, and safety actions aren’t required.

"In Case of Tornado" graphicBeginning Monday, Aug. 5, the MTSU Police Department will begin testing the siren system on the first Monday of each month at 11:20 a.m. to minimize distractions for classes and community neighbors.

The university will continue to notify the campus community before these monthly tests, but the new, more regular schedule should prove easier to remember. If the test date falls on a university holiday, the department will still conduct the test at the regular time.

MTSU’s campus community can prepare for emergency weather situations anytime by checking the university’s list of recommended shelter sites at http://tinyurl.com/MTSUTornadoShelters.

Remember: When there’s a weather emergency, all students, faculty and staff automatically receive a Rave alert at their MTSU email addresses.

MTSU community members who also want text and/or voice alerts can visit www.mtsunews.com/weather and use the “click here and log in” link to make those notification changes.

MTSU’s summer 2019 commencement is set Saturday, Aug. 10. Classes for MTSU’s fall 2019 semester begin Monday, Aug. 26.

MTSU 2019-20 Academic Year Schedule for Tornado-Siren Testing

• Monday, Aug. 5, 2019, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, Sept. 2, 2019, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, Oct. 7, 2019, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, Nov. 4, 2019, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, Dec. 2, 2019, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, Jan. 6, 2020, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, Feb. 3, 2020, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, March 2, 2020, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, April 6, 2020, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, May 4, 2020, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, June 1, 2020, 11:20 a.m.
• Monday, July 6, 2020, 11:20 a.m.

— Gina E. Fann (gina.fann@mtsu.edu)


COMMENTS ARE OFF THIS POST

INSTAGRAM
WE ARE TRUE BLUE